Rideshare Accident Lawyer in Mesquite
Representing Clients Hurt in a Car Accident Involving an Uber or Lyft Vehicle
Rideshare services like Uber or Lyft are reported to have millions of users around the globe. Uber has its highest market share in the city of Houston and holds 68% of the national market share for ridesharing services. Yet, the number of accidents involving Uber and Lyft drivers continues to increase every year. The attorneys at the Oberg Law Office explain how rideshare accident cases work and what you need to do if you are hurt in a collision involving an Uber or Lyft driver. If you would like to schedule a free consultation to discuss your auto accident, call 972-672-9700.
What Is a Rideshare Service?
A rideshare service is a type of on-demand transportation service that uses a mobile app to connect passengers to drivers. Rideshare companies have gained millions of users over the past decade by offering a convenient and cost-effective alternative to traditional taxi services. Through the mobile app, users are able to book rides and track their rides in real-time. Rideshare services are often more affordable than traditional taxi services, which makes them attractive to those on a budget.
However, it is important to note that rideshare services are not regulated in the same way as traditional taxi services. Uber and Lyft drivers are independent contractors using personal vehicles to provide the service and are not directly employed by the rideshare company. This means that drivers may not be held to the same safety standards as traditional taxi drivers and thus may end up engaging in speeding and driving while distracted, leading to many serious and potentially fatal motor vehicle accidents.
Does Texas Have Any Laws Regulating Rideshare Services?
Rideshare services in Texas are overseen by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR), which requires rideshare companies to carry certain minimum levels of liability insurance for their drivers to cover damages in the event of an accident.
In addition to coverage provided by the rideshare company, Uber and Lyft drivers must also maintain proof of adequate insurance coverage for their personal vehicles. Drivers are also required to pass a criminal background check, have a clean driving record, and be at least 21 years of age. In Texas, rideshare drivers are prohibited from stopping on the side of the road to pick up passengers and are only allowed to meet passengers at designated pickup locations. They are also prohibited from charging extra fares that are not established by the company.
Who Is Financially Responsible for My Damages After a Rideshare Accident?
The amount of insurance coverage available in the event of an Uber or Lyft accident depends on the driver’s activity at the time of the accident. If the driver is logged into the app and available for rides but has not yet accepted a ride request, the rideshare company may provide up to $50,000.00 in coverage per person, a maximum of $100,000.00 per accident, and up to $25,000.00 in property damage coverage.
If the driver is en route to pick up a passenger after having accepted a ride request, the company may provide up to $1 million in liability coverage. If the driver has picked up a passenger and gets involved in an accident while the passenger is riding in their vehicle, the rideshare company may provide up to $1 million in liability coverage. However, if the driver is not logged in, the driver’s own personal auto insurance will be the primary coverage for any damages incurred in a motor vehicle accident. Because the levels of coverage vary according to whether the rideshare driver was actively using the app or was logged off, it is important to know whether to file an insurance claim against the rideshare driver’s personal insurance or against the rideshare service company. An Uber accident attorney can help you determine the right course of action for your case.
How Much Is My Uber or Lyft Accident Claim Worth?
Victims of Uber and Lyft accidents may seek compensation for medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, and property damage. Medical expenses may include bills for hospital stays, physician visits, exams, surgery, physical therapy, and medications, if applicable. Lost wages include income lost due to missed work or reduced hours due to injury. Pain and suffering compensation may include compensation for emotional distress, mental anguish, and physical pain. Property damage may include the cost of repairing or replacing the vehicle involved in the accident.
Every Uber and Lyft accident claim is unique, and there is no safe way to predict the overall value of a claim without a thorough investigation and analysis of the facts. In general terms, the amount of damages an injured person can receive depends on the severity of the injury and damages the victim may have sustained, as well as the amount of insurance coverage available. A Lyft accident attorney can help you determine the exact value of your claim.
Why Should I Hire an Attorney for My Case?
If you were injured and sustained damages after a rideshare car accident with a Lyft or Uber driver, it is best to reach out to an Uber accident lawyer to discuss your case. A Lyft accident lawyer can handle all aspects of your claim on your behalf and help you protect your rights as a victim. The experienced legal team at the Oberg Law Office has represented countless Lyft accident victims in Mesquite, TX, and surrounding areas, and we can help you stand up for your rights to maximum compensation. Contact our law firm at 972-672-9700 to learn more.